Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

1.   0 points
    I have been making my own soap for about ten years, getting most of my supplies from Mountain Meadows. Recently, we have noticed that all our washcloths are stiff as a board after they come out of the washing machine, and dryer. I had recently switched to a new type of TIDE and thought that might be it, used another brand Oxydol that I have and that didn't help either. My husband thought it was the towels, we have used Lands End for a million years, but the old ones and the new ones are both stiff. Then, my husband said the washcloths in the upstairs bathroom were not stiff, he thought they were newer, but they are not. However, that bathroom uses only a liquid hand soap, not made by me.

That leaves me to think that it has something to do with the soap I make, and maybe it is not washing out of the washcloths completely. We do notice that most of the time we hardly put any laundry soap in with the towels because they seem to create enough lather on their own.

Do you have a similar problem? And ideas about how to get the soap out of the washcloths so they are soft again? I have washed them two or three times, but doesn't seem to make a difference. My standard soap is coconut oil, olive oil, shea butter and soybean oil. Nothing radical. I look forward to your thoughts.
    • CommentAuthorMachins
    • CommentTimeApr 27th 2016
      0 points
    Maybe try a vinegar rinse to remove any residue?
  2.   0 points
    How much vinegar in a washer full of towels?
  3.   0 points
    Yes, white vinegar added to your laundry(when washing towels, use HOT WATER.) In my machine there's a spot for softener to be added. I fill that up to the very top. (I'm guessing 1/2 cup)
    This is usually when the machine dumps it in the rise cycle. Then I re-wash my towels again in Medium water (warm water) do not add anymore vinegar. You can a