Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorLori
    • CommentTimeDec 14th 2010 edited
      2 points
    I recently came across some articles on activated charcoal. I've become intrigued, and have a few questions about using it in soap. (I tell you, I see life though soap colored glasses now. it has bubbled over into every other part of my consciousness. Anything and everything has become a potential additive, mold, colorant, or utensil for my new addiction.)

So anyways, I like the idea for naturally achieving a black bar, and I wonder, do its adsorbent qualities carry through into the finished soap? If so, can it be effectively used in poison ivy relief soaps or the like? Any comments or suggestions would be great, as I have no experience with the stuff.

I have read that direct application to the skin can have a tattooing affect. is this an issue?

What is the standard usage PPO and method of incorporation?

On a side note, is there a national Soapaholic's Anonymous hotline? This craft has really gotten out of hand. Its threatening to take over my life and my kitchen.
  1.   0 points
    Great questions! I was wondering about activated charcoal just the other day. I love the dark grey color of some of the bars I've seen. I would love to try making some. Does anyone know where to buy activated charcoal?
    • CommentAuthorKinky Witch
      1 point
    I love using activated charcoal in some of my soaps! I've used a few teaspoons to a couple of tablespoons in my batches of soap for different effects. My batches are typically 3.5 oz of oils/butters. I know it's absorbant qualities carry through to the finished soap, but I have no idea if it's good for poison ivy relief or anything like that.