Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorchrima
    • CommentTimeOct 31st 2012 edited
      4 points
    I have been asked more and more to teach classes on soap making and in thinking about how to go about this, I consulted some of my books that have been sitting on my shelves for years and ever so often get peeked into but as I realized, not nearly often enough. One of my favorites is "Essentially Soap" by Dr. Robert S. McDaniel. He approaches soap making from a very scientific angle and his book is extremely informative. I highly recommend it to any soap maker.

I have to add that I've been making soap for 14 years and gotten quite lazy and somewhat dependent on the MMS lye calculator. If I were to teach someone else, I thought, I needed to get out my saponification chart (in the book) and be able to show someone how to calculate the lye from scratch. In doing so, I stumbled across something in the book that I never before paid attention to, and that is the INS value. He lists it as one of his secrets that contribute to the perfect bar of soap. Every oil has one along with the saponification value and taking this into consideration should help determine the proper ratio of oils. The ideal INS factor for the combined oils should be 160.

For instance, olive oil has an INS value of 107 while coconut's is 257. If i were to use these two oils only taking the INS ratio into consideration, I'd have to use 35% coconut and 65% olive to get the ideal bar of soap. Over the years, I have always followed the rule that you use no more than 25 - 30% coconut or your bar will be drying. This throws it all on the head, or does it?